UPC System on the starting blocks

On 17 February 2023, Germany ratified the Unified Patent Court Agreement. This officially triggers the start of the UPC system, which will enter into force on 1 June 2023.

As of that date, unitary protection will be available in the contracting member states (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, Sweden, Slovenia).

Disputes based on European patents (both EPs with unitary effect and “classic” EPs that are not opted out) will be decided in proceedings before the new Unified Patent Court.

Our patent attorneys will be happy to assist clients and overseas associates in navigating their way through this momentous transition.

Latest news